EXCLUSIVE: Hear a Track From Down’s ‘Diary of a Mad Band’

With the Oct. 5 CD/DVD release of Down's latest, we've got an exclusive kickass jam to get your blood pumping!

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud

EXCLUSIVE: Hear a Track From Down's 'Diary of a Mad Band'


New Orleans rock juggernaut DOWN is set to release their CD/DVD Diary Of A Mad Band on October 5 via Down Records/ADA. The DVD will feature footage from DOWN’s first European tour, as well as a full, remastered and unreleased concert. 

To celebrate the release, we've got an exclusive track from the album! Wrap your ears around "Stone the Crow" live in Dublin: 

Down - Stone The Crow (live) 

Diary of a Mad Band features a 2 CD full concert, while the DVD highlights documented footage marking the 2006 return of DOWN from the practice room through their first European tour, and a bonus behind-the-scenes featurette entitled ‘Tirades and Shenanigans’. With the DVD running over two hours, you're getting plenty of band for your buck. But don't take it from me...

Guitarist Pepper Keenan affirms:

“The DVD is an in-depth look at what five boys from the wrong side of the tracks can achieve when motivated by the will to escape hard times, fueled by an unexplainable quest to destroy live and be embraced by the love of fans whom we had not had the pleasure of meeting yet. This is how it’s supposed to be: rock solid.”

Vocalist/frontman Philip Anselmo adds:

“This is a semi-ugly glimpse into what would end up the perfect building blocks to a much more prosperous future! Raw, distorted, unpredictable, and with a freshly mended spine in tow, these shows were desperately important to us as a cohesive unit.  Take this trip through the old days with us at your own risk, and don’t forget to bring some aspirin!”

See below for a complete tracklisting of the set, and head to Down's official site to pre-order

DVD: Diary of a Mad Band

1. Lysergik Funeral Procession
2. Lifer
3. Losing All
4. Rehab
5. New Orleans Is A Dying Whore
6. Ghosts Along The Mississippi
7. Learn From This Mistake
8. Underneath Everything
9. Temptation’s Wings
10. There’s Something On My Side
11. Hail The Leaf
12. Lies
13. The Seed
14. Eyes Of The South
15. Jail
16. Stone The Crows
17. Bury Me In Smoke


1. Losing All
2. Lifer
3. Lysergic Funeral Procession
4. Rehab
5. Temptations Wings
6. Ghosts Along The Mississippi
7. Learn From This Mistake
8. Hail The Leaf
9. New Orleans Is A Dying Whore
10. Lies, I Don’t Know What They Say But…
11. Underneath Everything
12. The Seed
13. Eyes Of The South
14. Jail
15. Stone The Crows
16. Bury Me In Smoke


To add even more awesome to the kickass release, a 180-gram triple-vinyl version with a bonus DVD will be available on October 26. 


Follow Down on Twitter, and hear more music at their MySpace.