Metallica Plans ‘Beyond Magnetic’ CD Release

The four unreleased 'Death Magnetic' outtakes will now see a full physical release of their own.  

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud


Metallica fans were in heaven in the final stretch of 2011, with the band's star-studded 30th anniversary shows and a series of unreleased songs surfacing in the form of Beyond Magnetic, a fanclub-only digital EP pulled from the sessions of the band's last proper studio album Death Magnetic (don't you dare say Lulu).

Now, due to overwhelming demand, the four-song EP will be released as a physical CD on January 31 (one day earlier internationally). All four tunes — "Hate Train," "Just A Bullet Away," "Hell And Back" and "Rebel Of Babylon" — were recorded during the sessions for the band's 2008 Death Magnetic album but left off the final track list. If you forgot how good that album was, read our review.

A statement from the band on the release: "We're still pumped up after celebrating our 30th-anniversary last month with fan-club members from around the world and by sharing the stage with musicians we have admired all our lives. Part of the fun on those nights included playing unreleased tracks from the 'Death Magnetic' sessions and after giving them to all fan-club members for free, those songs have been available on iTunes and other at digital retailers for several weeks. We've been feeling all the love and positive vibes beyond our wildest expectations on the mp3 side, so we decided to go 'old school' (!!) and also release those four songs on a CD."

Metallica previously stated about the four songs that made up Beyond Magnetic: "During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you've all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on 'Mission Metallica' (remember 'Mission Metallica'?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, 'What ever happened to those other four songs???.' We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March '08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our fan club, to enjoy. Now they're being made available to you."

Beyond Magnetic track listing:

01. Hate Train

02. Just A Bullet Away

03. Hell And Back

04. Rebel Of Babylon

Additionally, drummer Lars Ulrich also hinted that the band will make an announcement in January about a special interactive fan event in June of 2012.

Keep up with the band at