Smashing Pumpkins Detail Massive ‘Mellon Collie’ Reissue Package

Check out the tracklist and info for the classic reissue, including a box set, CDs, vinyl, two books and more!

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud


The most beloved incarnation of The Smashing Pumpkins will be returning soon to speakers around the world, as Billy Corgan and Co. roll out a deluxe reissue of their 1995 double-album opus, Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness.

The re-release follows last year's Gish and Siamese Dream reissues, as well as this year's Pisces Iscariot, with a jaw-dropping collection of previously unreleased recordings, rarities and various other goodies in a variety formats.

An Amazon listing first reported by Antiquiet promises that the Mellon Collie reissue will be a five-disc CD and DVD box set, a four-LP vinyl box set, a double-CD edition and a deluxe download. In addition to new cover art, two books of liner notes and various other intricate packaging, the deluxe CD box includes 64 bonus tracks of unreleased or alternate material from the Mellon Collie sessions, as well as DVD video footage of a live show filmed at London's Brixton Academy in 1996.

Don't mistake this for a short-shrift cash-grab either; each of the tracks "have been painstakingly remastered for the first time from the original master tapes by Bob Ludwig."

Originally released October 24th, 1995, Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness delivered a seemingly endless stream of smash hits and fan favorites, including "Bullet With Butterfly Wings," "1979," "Tonight, Tonighty," "Thirty Three" and more.

“What strikes me now about Mellon Collie is that we were coming off of making Siamese Dream with Butch Vig – which was a very idealized statement,” Corgan explains to writer David Wild in the liner notes. “Siamese Dream was very successful and very much at the forefront of how records are made now with a strong perfectionist streak. Yet coming off of that success, we went completely in the opposite direction working with Flood and Alan Moulder. We headed into a much darker, funkier and more visceral terrain. Revisiting Mellon Collie for this edition, that’s what struck me – that we made this kind of dramatic at a time when most people would have made an even more expensive idealized statement. We went deep, and we went for something expansive sounding – not just expensive sounding.”

The Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness reissue will reportedly be available on December 4.

'Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness' Reissue Tracklist(s):


– 5CD +DVD

– Physical Tracks: 106, Digital Tracks: 92

– Original album remastered for the first time

– 64 bonus tracks of previously unreleased material or alternate versions of Mellon Collie era songs

– DVD featuring live show filmed at the Brixton Academy, London (1996) and bonus performances from Rockpalast (1996)

– Housed in a 12 x 12 lift-top box with magnetic closure, reimagined cover art and velvet-lined disc holder

– 2 books containing personal notes, lyrics, new collage artwork plus a Decoupage kit for creating your own scenes from the Mellon Collie universe.



– 4LP (180gram), Original album remastered for first time, 28 tracks

– Remastered vinyl features the original record spread out over 8 sides (4 LPS) for the first time to ensure the optimum sound

– MCIS never before released on vinyl in the US (original vinyl previously released in the UK)

– Housed in 12×12 rigid slipcase with 2 books containing personal notes, new collage artwork, lyrics and more.



– Original double album remastered for the first time

– Physical and Digital Tracks: 28



'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'


Dawn To Dusk (CD1)

Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness

Tonight, Tonight



Here Is No Why

Bullet With Butterfly Wings

To Forgive

An Ode To No One


Cupid De Locke



Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans

Take Me Down


Twilight To Starlight (CD2)

Where Boys Fear To Tread



In The Arms Of Sleep


Tales Of A Scorched Earth

Thru The Eyes Of Ruby



We Only Come Out At Night


Lily (My One And Only)

By Starlight

Farewell And Goodnight


Morning Tea (CD3)

Tonight, Tonight (Strings Alone mix)

Methusela (Sadlands demo)

X.Y.U. (Take 11)

Zero (Synth mix)

Feelium (Sadlands demo)

Autumn Nocturne (Sadlands demo)

Beautiful (Loop version)

Ugly (Sadlands demo)

Ascending Guitars (Sadlands demo)

By Starlight (Flood rough)

Medellia Of The Gray Skies (Take 1)

Lover (Arrangement 1 demo)

Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Take 7)

In The Arms Of Sleep (Early Live demo)

Lily (My One And Only) (Sadlands demo)

1979 (Sadlands demo)

Glamey Glamey (Sadlands demo)

Meladori Magpie

Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Home Piano version)

Galapagos (Instrumental/Sadlands demo)

To Forgive (Sadlands demo)


High Tea (CD4)

Bullet With Butterfly Wings (Sadlands demo)

Set The Ray To Jerry (Vocal Rough)

Thirty-Three (Sadlands demo)

Cupid De Locke (BT 2012 mix)

Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans (Live Studio rough)

Jellybelly (Instrumental/Pit mix 3)

The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)

Jupiter’s Lament (Barbershop version)

Bagpipes Drone (Sadlands demo)

Tonight, Tonight (Band Version Only, No Strings)

Knuckles (Studio outtake)


Here Is No Why (Pumpkinland demo)

Blast (Fuzz version)

Towers Of Rabble (Live)

Rotten Apples

Fun Time (Sadlands demo)

Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Acoustic version)

Chinoise (Sadlands demo)



Special Tea (CD 5)

Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Nighttime version 1)

Galapagos (Sadlands demo)

Cherry (BT 2012 mix)

Love (Flood rough)

New Waver (Sadlands demo)

Fuck You (an ode to no one) (Production Master rough)

Isolation (BT 2012 mix)

Transformer (Early mix)

Dizzle (Sadlands demo)

Goodnight (Basic Vocal rough)

Eye (Soundworks demo)

Blank (Sadlands demo)

Beautiful (Instrumental-Middle 8)

My Blue Heaven (BT 2012 mix)

One And Two

Zoom (7 ips)

Pastichio Medley (Reversed extras)

Marquis In Spades (BT 2012 mix)

Tales Of A Scorched Earth (Guitar Overdub mix)

Tonite Reprise (Version 1)

Wishing You Were Real (Home demo)

Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Pit mix 3)

Phang (Sadlands demo)



Live at Brixton academy, London, 5/15/96

1. Tonight, Tonight

2. 1979

3. Zero

4. Here Is No Why

5. Thru the Eyes of Ruby

6. Porcelina of the Vast Oceans

7. Jellybelly

8. Silverfuck

9. Disarm

10. Bullet with Butterfly Wings


Live at Rockpalast, 4/7/96

11. Fuck You (An Ode To No One)

12. Muzzle

13. Cherub Rock

14. X.Y.U.