X-Force Invades Year Of The X-Men

Wolverine's black ops team takes on some familiar faces...

Blair Marnellby Blair Marnell

X-Force Invades Year Of The X-Men

Earlier this week, Marvel began promoting MMXI – The Year of The X-Men with two teaser images, the first was the cover for New Mutants #25 and the second featured the new cast of X-Men Legacy.

For today’s third teaser, Marvel throws the spotlight on Uncanny X-Force, as Wolverine, Deadpool, Fantomex and Psylocke take on… the X-Men. In particular, they appear to be the X-Men from the popular Age of Apocalypse storyline.

Uncanny X-Force #11

What’s interesting about this image is that the AOA X-Men seem to have the same members that they did in the 2005 X-Men: Age of Apocalypse miniseries by Akira Yoshida and Chris Bachalo. That project served as a sequel for the original AOA.

The X-Men shown here include Phoenix, Gambit, Nightcrawler, Sunfire, Sabretooth, Wild Child, Silver Samurai, Rogue and an alternate X-23 known as Kirika.

Notably absent from the AOA X-Men are Wolverine and Blink, who went on to join the Exiles. The caption for the image also states "We will not let anyone else fall," which may hint at something bad happening to Archangel, who is also not present here.

The new storyline will kick off in June’s Uncanny X-Force #11 by Rick Remender and Mark Brooks.

Follow BlairMarnell on Twitter