Resident Evil: Mercenaries 3D Only Has One Save File

No deleting, erasing or restarting. Yowsers...

Joey Davidsonby Joey Davidson

Resident Evil: Mercenaries 3D

Players will only be allowed one save file for Resident Evil: Mercenaries 3D on the 3DS once it releases.

One of the sites that initially ran this report, Tiny Cartridge, have framed the news as part of a scheme on behalf of Capcom to ruin the resale-ability of this upcoming 3DS Resident Evil. The bit in question: "There’s speculation that Capcom deliberately made it impossible for users to delete their save data to discourage used game sales — since those who buy Mercenaries 3D used can’t wipe the save and start over from the beginning…"

Whether this shrewd move was actually made to curb used game sales for the title will likely never be 100% confirmed or denied. If Capcom did actually do it to thwart trade-ins and resales, they've made a decision that will likely see a lot of frustration and anger.

What happens to the users that just want to restart their adventure from the beginning? Say you put your system down and forget about the title for a month. You come back to it and you want to reset the save file to replay the bits of the game you've completely forgotten about.

Too bad.

Eurogamer confirms the news by looking inside their review copy and finding the following: "The manual reads: 'saved data on this software cannot be reset.'"

[image above from Resident Evil 5]