Drawn Second Test Gives Australia The Series

No winner in second Test and some bowling injuries to limit Aussies.

Robert Whiteby Robert White

The second Test between Australia and the West Indies was abandoned yesterday because of heavy rain, meaning Australia now cannot effectively lose the series and will maintain their dominant run over the island side.

With the West Indies now unable to win the series Australia will retain the Frank Worrell Trophy at the conclusion of the tour, a feat they have not relinquished in two decades.

The decision to call off play was made shortly after the West Indies had begun their chase of 215 runs set by the Australians after their second innings.

The Aussies declared at 8-160, allowing the home side 61 overs to reach the target- a challenge they looked up to completing. The West Indies had raced away to a 2-53 start before the umpires called off the play, scoring at a clip of 4.81 runs per over.

However, their run chase didn’t start too spectacularly. Captain Darren Sammy made an unexpected change to the batting lineup, making Kieran Powell an opener and placing himself as the next man in.

It didn’t work. Powell was caught leg before wicket in Ben Hilfenhaus’ second over and then had Adrian Barath caught at first slip by Michael Clarke from an out swinger that clipped the edge of his bat, leaving the West Indies at 2-13.

Sammy batted on, making 30 from just 26 balls and placing his side in a good position to win.

The third and final Test starts on Monday in Dominica but the Australians will go without some key components of their bowling attack.

Peter Siddle and James Pattinson are heading home after sustaining injuries. Siddle has a niggling back injury that appears to be stress induced while Pattinson suffered back spasms on day three but had to stick around in case he was needed to bat.

There is just one Test left to play on the tour so Australia has opted not to send any replacements over and go with three fast bowlers currently travelling with the squad: Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitchell Starc.