Twenty20 Super Eight Round Set

Four nations bow out of the Twenty20 World Cup.

Robert Whiteby Robert White

The Twenty20 cricket World Cup final eight is finalised and is down to two groups of four teams.

Group 1: Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England and West Indies.

Group 2: Australia, India, Pakistan and South Africa.

Group 1 begins its matches Thursday while Group 2 will follow on Friday. Similar to the Olympic tournament schedule, each team receives a day’s break between matches.

Pakistan smashed Bangladesh out of the tournament with the last game on Wednesday while Ireland, Afghanistan, and Zimbabwe also failed to make the cut.

The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals. Australia faces India on Friday, but a loss won’t necessarily mean elimination from the World Cup.

 "If we can win that first one in the Super Eights, it does give you that confidence and that little buffer that you know you just need one out of the last two to get through,” said batsman Mike Hussey on Wednesday.

He might have been a little off with his next call.

"It's pretty much an early grand final really in the context of the tournament," he said referring to the AFL and NRL grand finals that are also scheduled this weekend.

Australia defeated the West Indies in essentially three-quarters of the time of a normal match last Saturday and has been resting since then. The team has been on the road for over a month with an extended break available, half of the squad opted to travel down to Galle to rest up.

That’s all about to change as the tournament begins its serious stage.

Crave has Australian sport covered.

Follow Robert White on Twitter @RobertWhitebrrr.