Silver Linings Playbook Dominates the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards

David O. Russell's comedy takes home Best Picture, Director, Actress and Screenplay. See the complete list of winners.

William Bibbianiby William Bibbiani

Silver Linings Playbook Dominates the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards

We're almost out of awards season – thank merciful Zeus – but we still have some of the biggest awards of the year to get through, since the Independent Spirit Awards, Academy Awards and of course The Razzies come dead last. We'll get to the other two over the next 24 hours or so, but for now, it's time to turn our attentions to the Independent Spirit Awards, which handed out its honors for 2012 this weekend.

For a ceremony dedicated to celebrating independence, it's a little ironic that a feel-good romantic comedy genre exercise from the stars of The Hangover and The Hunger Games took home most of the top honors. Silver Linings Playbook won Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Actress at the Independent Spirit Awards, leaving very few slots open for other productions. The Sessions was the only other film to win multiple awards, earning Best Actor for John Hawkes and Best Supporting Actress for Helen Hunt. Oscar contender Amour earned Best International Film, while Matthew McConaughey got a Best Supporting Actor prize for Steven Soderbergh's male stripper drama Magic Mike.

Ordinarily this is where we wonder what the wins for Silver Linings Playbook, Amour and The Sessions could mean for tomorrow's Academy Awards, but those ballots are already in, so these kudos couldn't really affect any buzz for the nominees who, with the exception of frontrunner Jennifer Lawrence, seem like longshots in all their other Oscar categories. So instead let's focus on the fact that they've earned their Spirit Awards, and give them at least a metaphoric round of applause for their efforts.

The complete list of Independent Spirit Award winners is as follows:

Best Feature: Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Male Lead: John Hawkes, The Sessions

Best Female Lead: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

Best Supporting Female: Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best International Film: Amour

Best Screenplay: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay: Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Robert Altman Award: Starlet

John Cassavetes Award: Middle of Nowhere

Best Cinematography: Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Documentary: The Invisible War

19th Annual Someone To Watch Award: Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award: Peter Nick, The Waiting Room

16th Annual Piaget Producers Award: Mynette Louie, Stones in the Sun

William Bibbiani is the editor of CraveOnline's Film Channel, the co-host of The B-Movies Podcast and the co-star of The Trailer Hitch. Follow him on Twitter at @WilliamBibbiani.